SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Stimulsoft Reports.WEB discussion
inavega
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 11:11 am

SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Post by inavega »

Hi,
Currently I'm migrating from old Stimulsoft version(2014) to a new one(2018).
We currently store our reports in a byte Array, using the SavePackedReportToByteArray method.
We load them using the LoadPackedReport method and display them on the designer using the .Design method.
Upon migration I'm getting the error in the attachment.
Even if I do something simple like:

Code: Select all

 StiReport oldReport = new StiReport();
 var byteArray= oldReport.SavePackedReportToByteArray()
 StiReport newReport = new StiReport();
 newReport.LoadPackedReport (byteArray);
 dessigner.Design(newReport)
I get the same error.
Also is there a migration path from users storing "old reports" or are they suppose to work with new version?

Regards,
Ivo
Attachments
Error.png
Error.png (21.47 KiB) Viewed 2596 times
Lech Kulikowski
Posts: 6245
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:34 am

Re: SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Post by Lech Kulikowski »

Hello,

Please send us a sample which reproduces the issue for analysis.

Thank you.
inavega
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 11:11 am

Re: SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Post by inavega »

Hi Lech,

I created a very simple application(that can be found in the attachments), one with an empty report and another one with an example of an byte array of 2014 report.
None of them seem to work.
Also in the 2014 report I have variables defined.
Please let me know if this sample is enough.

Regards,
Ivo
Attachments
2014To2018Migration.zip
(33.53 KiB) Downloaded 146 times
HighAley
Posts: 8431
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:40 am
Location: Stimulsoft Office

Re: SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Post by HighAley »

Hello.

Thank you for the sample we have reproduced the issue.
But our first suggestion would be to use the HTML5 Designer (StiWebDesigner) instead of the StiWebDesignerFx.
There is no any error in this case.

Thank you.

Ticket reference: #6491
inavega
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 11:11 am

Re: SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Post by inavega »

Hi,

I know that in the next couple of weeks a new release is due to happen.
Any chance this fix will be included? If not, could you please give a date when the fix will be available?
In mean time is there any workaround instead of migrating to the HTML5 component?

Thanks,
Ivo
HighAley
Posts: 8431
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:40 am
Location: Stimulsoft Office

Re: SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Post by HighAley »

Hello, Ivo.

We are strongly recommend you to migrate to the HTML5 Designer.
Especially, when you are upgrading to our latest build.
The development of the Flex components is discontinued.
I am not sure that we can fix your issue.
I will let you know when I get any answer from our developers.

Thank you.

Ticket reference: #6491
HighAley
Posts: 8431
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:40 am
Location: Stimulsoft Office

Re: SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Post by HighAley »

Hello, Ivo.

Thank you for your sample.
It helped us to find a bug and make an improvement.
The fix will be included in our next build.

Thank you.
inavega
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 11:11 am

Re: SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Post by inavega »

Hi,

As recommended I'm migrating the old application to a new Angular\HTML5 website.
Using the Stimulsoft component I cannot find the loadPackedReport function to load the byteArray that was saved in the server side using the savePackedReport method, is there an equivalent in HTML5?
I tested with loadEncryptedReport but that does not seem to work...also in HTML5 I cannot find SavePackedReportToByteArray is there also an equivalent?

Thank you.
inavega
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 11:11 am

Re: SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Post by inavega »

Hi,

I manage to load the report that was previously saved using the SavePackedReportToByteArray in the server side.
I used the "load" method from the report and it's displaying the report correctly, except from all defined dataSources are missing in the JS component. Is this a bug in the JS component ? I have attached the report that I tried to open in the JS component.
Also right now in the Stimulsoft Report JS I cannot convert to PackedReportByteArray because the SavePackedReportToByteArray method is missing. Is there any workaround?
Thank you.
Attachments
test.mrt
(28.02 KiB) Downloaded 129 times
Lech Kulikowski
Posts: 6245
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:34 am

Re: SavePackedReportToByteArray\LoadPackedReport not working

Post by Lech Kulikowski »

Hello,

> except from all defined dataSources are missing in the JS component. Is this a bug in the JS component ? I have attached the report that I tried to open in the JS component.

We need sample which reproduces the issue for analysis.

> Also right now in the Stimulsoft Report JS I cannot convert to PackedReportByteArray because the SavePackedReportToByteArray method is missing. Is there any workaround?

Saving to packed report, in the JS version is not available.

Thank you.
Post Reply