"Save a copy" of datasource with alias

Stimulsoft Reports.Flex discussion
ssteketee

"Save a copy" of datasource with alias

Post by ssteketee »

Hi. I am a novice user and am trying to use the "save a copy" feature in the "edit data source" window to make multiple copies of a datasource in a report.

What I would like to be able to do is copy the fields on the original databand to the new databand without having to update all the field names because I have to make several copies of the datasource and updating the fields each time will be really time consuming. I thought I should be able to avoid this by using a datasource alias but when I do this, I get the error that the alias is not registered.

Specifically, I have "datasource1" and have specified an alias of "names". The select query pulls from the names table as names. The names table has two fields, firstname and lastname. If I place those fields in the report, they are placed as datasource1.firstname and datasource1.lastname.

If I copy the datasource, it appends "copy" to the datasource name so now it's name is "datasource1copy." I leave the alias as "names."

How do I set it up so that "names" is always the datasource so when I copy the fields from the first databand to the second/copied databand, I don't have to update all the fields?

To me, it seems like if I can just leave the fields datasource as the alias, i should have no problem.

I hope I am explaining this clearly, any help will be appreciated. Thank you, all!
Lech Kulikowski

Re: "Save a copy" of datasource with alias

Post by Lech Kulikowski »

Hello,

Sorry for the delay with the response.

Maybe we did not exactly understand your problem. Please send us a step by step guide how to reproduce it.

Thank you.
ssteketee

Post by ssteketee »

Thank you for your reply!

These are the steps:

1. Create report with a datasource called source1 and with the datasource alias as data
2. In SQL statement, select field from source1 called field1